All Articles

OVPR Welcomes 20 Faculty to Research Collaboration Catalysts 2024-2025 Cohort 

Caitlin Ware, Iowa State University Office of the Vice President for Research

Posted Jun 4, 2024

Twenty outstanding Iowa State University faculty members have been selected to participate in the 2024-2025 Research Collaboration Catalysts (RCC) program cohort, designed to train the next generation of interdisciplinary research team leaders.

The Research Collaboration Catalysts program — hosted through the Office of the Vice President for Research — is based on Team Science principles. Using evidence-based training, tools and resources, participating Iowa State faculty develop strong leadership skills and learn how to manage challenges that are specific to interdisciplinary collaborations to foster high-performing research teams. Participating tenured, tenure-eligible, and research term faculty were nominated as individuals who have demonstrated potential to lead future high-impact interdisciplinary research teams.

“The Research Collaboration Catalysts program is incredibly valuable for learning how to best engage a multi-disciplinary, multi-institutional team on an existing project in order to take it to the next level,” said National Institute of Antimicrobial Resistance Research and Education (NIAMRRE) Associate Director for External Relations Kris Johansen, who was a participant in the 2022-2023 program cohort. “I’ve continued to use the tools and tips presented in the program to help foster collaboration when addressing the global challenges presented by antimicrobial resistance. These types of problems can only be tackled through a Team Science approach.  The program is also a great way to connect with others on campus who are using Team Science to solve complex problems through innovative research.”

Through the course of the 2024-2025 academic year, cohort participants will interact with each other and with a variety of internal and external content experts in eight sessions to learn about and practice evidence-based approaches to building and leading high-functioning, high-performing research teams. Topics that will be covered include:

  • – Utilizing leadership styles to build a team vision and set goals;
  • – Enhancing communication skills to better navigate conflict;
  • – Negotiating credit and authorship while building a collaboration plan; and
  • – Leading large interdisciplinary research teams to success with project management.

“Interdisciplinary research that yields high-impact results is spearheaded by effective leaders who have the skills to bring diverse teams together to collaborate and explore new solutions to significant societal challenges,” said Associate Vice President for Research Surya Mallapragada. “The program we have created for this year’s Research Collaboration Catalysts will help grow more effective team leaders who can guide transformative research teams to greater discovery and innovation.” 

Below are the participants in the 2024-2025 Research Collaboration Catalysts cohort:

  • – Merate Barakat, College of Design
  • – Claus Kadelka, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences
  • – Jiwnath Ghimire, College of Design
  • – Christina Svec, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences
  • – Yunjeong Mo, College of Engineering
  • – Lu Liu, College of Engineering
  • – Katie Dentzman, College of Agriculture and Life Sciences
  • – Patrick Finley, College of Design
  • – Peng Xu, Ames Laboratory
  • – Rui Chen, College of Business
  • – Michael Howard, College of Business
  • – Annaleena Parhankangas, College of Business
  • – Abhay Mishra, College of Business
  • – Andreas Schwab, College of Business
  • – Laura D’Oria, College of Business
  • – Daji Qiao, College of Engineering
  • – Todd Bell, College of Veterinary Medicine
  • – Thimmasettappa Thippeswamy, College of Veterinary Medicine
  • – Laura Iles, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences
  • – Angela Prince, College of Human Sciences